Mrs Whangarei

November 26, 2017

Golden Wedding

Our family of 8 came over from NZ to celebrate our Golden Wedding. The property was all we expected it to be and was amazing for an age mix of 7 years to 86 years. We could not have asked for more. Took advantage of pre-arrival shopping done for us to stock our fridges and pantry and also had recommend caterer to spoil us for our celebration long lunch. Situated in a quiet gated complex and a 2min stroll to a beautiful beach I would certainly recommend this place for a special occasion.

Simon

November 11, 2017

Wonderful set up for groups

Barefoot was perfect for our family of 11 to celebrate a special birthday. Well set up with your own sleeping and ensuite..we had 3 families. The central living area, kitchen and pool areas worked very well.

Scott Levy

November 2, 2017

Amazing!!

From the minute we viewed Barefoot, we knew it was going to be the place that we got married. Fran was fantastic throughout the entire process. Nothing was too much trouble. We live in the area and were still blown away by the beauty, privacy and access of Barefoot. We had friends and family from all over the world and every single person mentioned how amazing the property was. Having our nearest and dearest staying with us in Barefoot topped the week off. The kids loved the pool and I loved every aspect of our stay. From the lead up to departure, we were looked after with service that is rare to find these days. Thank you so much Tim and Fran for making our week so special.

Jonesey

October 29, 2017

Fantastic Stay

We have just stayed here for 7 nights. 2 families and a nana! Was brilliant. Location is fantastic, walking distance the beach and a short drive to wee shopping area. This family-friendly house has a superb pool and outdoor area and really is set up for the sunshine - of which Byron has plenty. There was Netflix and Foxtel for when the kids wanted to chill, a piano and plenty of board games. Also had bikes and surfboards. We cooked a couple of nights and the kitchen was well equipped even had some lovely organic Byron bay teas supplied and a coffee machine. Fran, the concierge, was more than obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Amongst other things, she organised road bikes for my husband, yoga on the deck for the ladies, in-house massages, surfing lessons for the kids and an amazing private chef one night. Highly recommend Barefoot - you won't be disappointed.

A T Varley

Brisbane, Australia

September 11, 2017

Amazing Wedding Location & Family Escape!

We knew Barefoot was the perfect wedding venue for us before we even went to see it in person! We wanted something relaxed & beachy, with a tropical vibe. We enjoyed 5 days staying at the house with our immediate families, with our wedding day taking place in the middle. The location is so relaxing & we made the most of it once the wedding excitement was complete, with beach walking, swimming in the sea, stand up paddle boarding at the tea tree lake & dips in the pool. Frances was so helpful through the whole process, especially on the wedding day. Thank you for everything!

Ruth Neech

July 31, 2017

Home away from home – heaven for people and pets!

We had a group of 8 (and 1 very happy dog) who all had every need catered for at Barefoot. The property has it's own ambiance that creates a feeling of relaxed fun and the compound design means you can have as much time together or apart as you like. Take a walk out the back gate, through a few meters of national park and you are instantly on the most beautiful beach. The property has a few bikes that you can take down and ride along the sand, which was absolutely magical at dusk. At the heart of Barefoot is the most comfy lounge that opens up entirely with large bi-fold doors. It features a piano, board games, BBQ and anything else you might need to have a great time with loved ones. There is a relaxed pool and lap pool off the kitchen/dining that takes care of all the rest! Take advantage of the concierge service offered at Barefoot. Frances is so lovely and will make sure your trip is wonderfully memorable. Byron Bay is only 15min away, delicious Suffolk Bakery coffee is only 5min, as is the ultimate dog beach! Definitely visit Barefoot! Wake up to the birds, laugh and play with those that matter, eat like a king and simply relax!

Murray

July 27, 2017

The reviews are right!

We've been everywhere man, and this is world class. We sent the shopping list ahead and relaxed as soon as we walked into this huge, classy house. Spotlessly clean, sparkling heated pools, manicured gardens, real attention to comfort. It's even better than the pictures, just wow, we'll be back.

Matti

July 2, 2017

Surf trip at Barefoot

Barefoot provided all the goods for a comfortable relaxing environment. The layout of the rooms to the main house almost felt like we was in Bali. Amazing entertainment area were we spent alot of our time recovering from a surf and relaxing. good Perfect location for a back door entry onto broken head beach. Had good swell conditions all weekend which put the cherry on top. Unfortanetly it rained all weekend but besides that we couldnt fault this place. Looking foward to our next stay at Barefoot in the near future. Also Frances was very helpful with all needs making it an easy stay. Cheers guys

Celia

June 23, 2017

Beautiful beachside pavilion

This set of pavilions is an amazing place to stay. I had my 40th birthday party here and it was just beautiful! Many of my guests came from far away, and this property was able to sleep 12 comfortably, with another two on mattresses on the floor. One night two of my guests slept alfresco on the daybed outside the honeymoon pavilion, which they found delightful. Because I booked an event at Barefoot, we were required to liaise with the house manager, who was perfect, unobtrusive and amazing. We were also required to make use of the house approved catering (Figtree Catering) which I probably would've used anyway! Needless to say, the food and staff were beautiful. The house itself is set up well so that guests can be together or alone, the kitchen is well stocked, bathrooms ample and the garden is very lovely. Distance to the beach is a plus for anytime of year, and even though Barefoot is situated in a gated complex and the neighbouring pavilions are actually quite close, everything is very quiet and private. There are some surfboards and a paddle board and some bikes for getting around. I really love this place. Highly recommended.

Allen M

Anchorage, Alaska

March 20, 2017

We will definitely be back!

We booked this magnificent home not only for a wonderful vacation, though also for our wedding. First off, the owner Tim, and the manger Frances, are just fantastic! The booking was easy and Frances took care of anything we needed or asked about. No matter what you see on this website, other booking sites or their direct website, nothing can compare with actually seeing this place in person. This Bali style home is truly one of a kind and can't be described in a few sentences. Every single aspect of the home, from the pool, to the rooms, to the kitchen and the amazing manicured grounds were all above and beyond what we expected - and talk about a true living room! To be just a couple minutes walk out the back gate to the spectacular Broken Head beach was a dream. We couldn't of asked for a more beautiful location for our wedding and reception - we are still in awe! We will definitely be back with a few close friends to once again enjoy what must be one of the top residential rentals throughout Australia. Thank you Tim and Frances!!!

John

January 24, 2017

The best beach house

Barefoot at Broken Head is a magnificent home designed in resort style with easy living beside the pools. Its name belies the way I spent the week - barefoot ! The external living areas were large and the rainforest gardens provided a peaceful space to undertake our morning yoga sessions arranged by the owners. This open living style enabled our group of 16 family members to have plenty of personal space and of significance to us was the security and privacy provided by the property walls. Our grand kids were always in a secure location and could not wander off. To cap it off all furnishings, bedding and facilities were first class as was the unexpected mid week clean provided by the owners. Overall a fabulous holiday at a fabulous place.

Skyemonique

November 23, 2016

Stunning

Our family stayed for a week. David and I were married in the garden and held our reception at Barefoot. Our stay and celebration was one of the best weeks of our lives. Such a beautiful place so close to the beach and with the shallow pool for the kids we did not want for anything. The accommodation was very much suited to a large family with children of any age. Frances the property manager was so lovely nothing was a problem for her and she helped our Wedding celebration run smoothly. Highly recommended Barefoot for your wedding, celebration and holiday.

Colleen

September 28, 2016

Bliss

This was our second visit to Barefoot and it did not disappoint. We have had a weekend away with friends and now a week of total relaxation with family. We love the easy laid back feel and the amazing options for entertaining. There is something and somewhere to go for everyone, we'll definitely be back again!

Don

August 4, 2016

Spectacular

My brother and his family were out from Dubai so I wanted somewhere very Australian and very spectacular to catch up for a few days. Barefoot was perfect. The beach is unbelievable and the ocean was warmer than we expected for June - a good month for waves. The house is huge and beautifully appointed. Complete privacy for each family and heaps to do for the kids. The low tide bike ride really is unforgettable. This is the perfect option if you really want to impress.

Andrew

June 24, 2016

Family Ties

What a wonderful family home. So beautifully maintained from the gardens to the pool to the bikes to the boards to the kitchen to the fresh flowers on arrival. Plenty of space for our 3 families, we had a ball. Superlatives from us.

The perfect retreat

May 27, 2016

The perfect retreat

Well, what can I say other than this property was pure perfection. The layout is beautiful, the area is oh so serene, and it made for the perfect venue to hold a yoga retreat. I could not be more grateful to have had the blessing to stay at this property and every single guest was blown away with how amazing it was. Definitely a yearly must visit. Thank you so much for having us.

Rosie

April 28, 2016

The place you arrive at and never want to leave

The layout of the property with 5 pavillions in a tropical garden was perfect for a gathering of 11 adults, family and friends. We had privacy yet lots of options for relaxing and gathering by the pool, on the decks, kitchen dining or living areas. The larger bathrooms were luxurious. Perfect location just meters from the beach. Fran was a delightful host. We will definitely be returning.

Katie

April 26, 2016

Amazing venue

We had our wedding at Barefoot and stayed with our family for 4 nights and had the most amazing time. The venue is so beautiful and relaxed we felt at ease the whole time we were there. Frances the manager was so helpful and made our special day easy and catered for our stay. We will definitely be back for another visit sometime down the track. This place is paradise!

Kiara

April 3, 2016

Wedding at Barefoot

We can honestly say that our wedding at Barefoot and our 4 night stay was the best time of our lives and we wish we could do it all over again, every weekend! Fran the manager of Barefoot was so lovely to deal with and went out of her way to make sure our stay and our wedding day was perfect! Thank you so much! We will always have the best memories of our wedding day. Mr & Mrs Cain.

Stephanie

November 6, 2014

Amazing, amazing, amazing!!!

We booked this house for our wedding and it turned out to be the most amazing venue for our special day. The house was absolutely stunning and so comfortable. Even with 10 guests staying at the house, we all had our own private space. The house is reflected perfectly by the photos on the website with no nasty surprises. It has been maintained and looked after to the highest standard. As a bonus, the owner Tim and house manager Fran were so lovely and easy to deal with. The house was great value for money and we can't wait to make this our regular holiday destination!!!

Joanne

October 2, 2014

Blissfully Relaxed

My family and I and a party of up to 12 guests have just returned from Barefoot at Broken Head. Celebrations for my husbands fiftieth birthday flowed effortlessly from the pools to the lounges to the superb beach located a stone’s throw from the private and luxurious property. The well equipped kitchen made catering for our group easy, with abundant seating and dining options both inside or outside in the delightfully flood lit gardens. Frances our housekeeper made us very welcome and was also happy to help with a last minute bedding configuration change. We are hoping to return for my 50th to show more of our friends the absolute delights of Barefoot at Broken Head.

Mark

June 24, 2014

Amazing!

We found Barefoot at Brokenhead after researching luxury houses in the Byron Bay area for our NYE 2013 celebrations that were pet-friendly and could comfortably sleep a larger group of adults. After doing a lot of comparisons with other properties in the area, we decided Barefoot was for us based on its location and the beautiful online photos and reviews. The photos were very enticing but in all honesty, did not do it full justice – the place is amazing! It truly is your own private tropical resort, within minutes of Tallows beach, with luxury split-level pool, open plan living space, high-end appliances, and lush green rainforest gardens enclosing each pavilion. The place is big enough to give every person or couple their own space, but allows plenty of places to meet and share time – the living area opens up into a fully open-air space with a huge couch for reading, watching DVDs, playing games or my favourite…napping! The place is littered with all kinds of great books and quite a few of us ploughed through the available novels rather than read our own books. We also took advantage of the relaxing environment and arranged for a local massage therapist to come for the day and give massages to the whole group. Even she commented that Barefoot was in her view and experience, “the best house in Byron”. Being only 10 minutes drive from Byron Bay town means you are far enough away from the summer crowds but close enough to drop in for necessities, restaurants or just to soak up the carefree anything-goes vibe of the town. Bangalow is also a short drive and a great place to spend a day. At the end of the week everyone was reluctant to leave this beautiful house and go back to our shoeboxes in Sydney! We felt we really got value for money for our week long vacation based on the location, the beautiful home and totally relaxing atmosphere. We will definitely be back!

Sian

June 18, 2014

Stunning

My husband James and I live in North Western Queensland and chose Barefoot Pavilion at Broken Head for our Wedding Venue after a flying visit to Byron and a quick walk through the home. We were sold as soon as we saw the house - the incredible open spaces, the quality of all fixtures, furnishings and architecture - such a magnificent place. We organised the Wedding from 2000km's away with the help of the amazing crew at Eatdrink (requested to be used by Barefoot - and you will be oh so glad they do!) and the homes owner, Tim. Obviously for a Bride, being so far away from the venue and all of your suppliers makes for some serious stress and a lot of what if's? We really were walking into this wedding blind - unsure even of how our seating arrangement would work out. All of the suppliers connected to Barefoot were so helpful and continuously eased my mind - by the time we were ready to head to Barefoot 2 days before the wedding I was of the mantra "It will work out" - I knew the team had us covered. We arrived at Barefoot and were met by the incredibly lovely Fran, the overseer of the house. We settled in and spent the next day preparing the venue for the wedding with much help and also heavy lifting from Fran, who went above and beyond to help us to prepare. The day of the wedding was absolutely seamless. I enjoyed getting ready with a glass of champagne while Fran and the co-ordinator from Eatdrink, Jackie, took care of every single thing. It astounded me how everything was done without me noticing, requesting or signalling - it was as if Fran and Jackie could read my mind. Our day was exquisite. The weather was perfect and a slight breeze kept us cool while carrying the sound of the waves; the garden was a fairy tale at dusk when the candles were lit and the fairy lights turned on and the deck provided not only a place to mingle but the special spot where James and I had our first dance as a married couple. The house in itself is serious luxury. The sheets are so soft, the bed is like a cloud, the pool is so glamorous, the open plan bathrooms are a dream come true, you have a private path to the stunning beach which is a stone's throw from the house and the kitchen is a fully functioning caterers dream. But what really made it for us, above the luxurious mansion where we felt comfortable enough to say our vows, the melt in your mouth food cooked by Eatdrink and the glorious places in the complex our photographer found to take our photo's - were the staff. I cannot speak highly enough of Fran. She moved mountains to ensure our day, and our entire stay was absolutely perfect. There was nothing that was too much of a hassle for Fran, she was just an Angel. We feel so lucky to have had her taking care of us and such a special event. The whole staff at Eatdrink were marvellous. Everything about our week at Barefoot feels like a perfect dream. We can't wait to come back again!

For more reviews see our listings on Stayz and TripAdvisor.